Skip to content

At the fitness club

February 20, 2016

This is just a note to say that the management of the club and I are in discussion.  I am hopeful that we may be able to resolve matters.

For now I just want to say that my impression that VA did not take the events with sufficient seriousness may not have been entirely correct.

I now understand that a lot was going on behind the scenes that I was not aware of.

I have had a very long and detailed discussion with VA’s management, who have indicated  that they were as horrified to read my account of what happened on 5 February as most of you have been and that they do take the matter very seriously indeed.

In particular, I must say I am satisfied that VA are quite sincere in their public statement that they have a zero tolerance attitude toward racism; not only in general but also in this case.

I may bring the original blog post back (quite aside from the matter of VA’s attitude, it still raises important questions about white rage and racial power in this country); but I also think that in all fairness I need to make sure that my representation of the club is fair and accurate.

I really appreciate all the support I have received and hope that it will be possible to use this blog to continue conversation about race, ‘listening’, power and change that we so desperately need.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2016 2:09 am

    How did everything go wit your discussions?

    Waiting to hear your reply.

  2. October 7, 2016 2:10 am

    Haha I was just about to ask the same thing.

  3. andries du toit permalink*
    November 1, 2016 10:25 am

    There have been some developments, but for reasons of protecting my own safety I would rather not post them publicly. If you send me your email details I can send you an update.

Leave a Reply

